Professor Jayashankar Telangana State Agricultral University , Hyderabad

About the university

Professor Jayashankar Telangana State Agricultural University (PJTSAU) named in honour and memory of Professor Jayashankar, an eminent educationist and an ardent Telangana ideologue, is the only Farm University of the Telangana State. It was established on 3rd September, 2014 (After State Bifurcation) with its headquarters at Rajendranagar, Hyderabad. PJTSAU caters to the needs of an enterprising farming community of Telangana which is endowed with abundant natural resources, diverse soil and agro-climatic conditions suitable for varied cropping systems.


The University has been accredited by University Grants Commission (UGC) as a State University and is empowered to award degrees through its own departments, its constituent colleges and / or through its affiliated colleges in regular mode with the approval of the concerned statutory bodies / councils, wherever required.


The University has been inducted as 63rd Regular Member of Indian Agricultural University Association (IAUA), New Delhi.


Professor Jayashankar Telangana State Agricultural University (PJTSAU), the lone Agricultural University in the state of Telangana was established in the year 2014 (After State Bifurcation), with the responsibility of generating the personnel with technical knowledge (Teaching), formulating and pursuing research activities (Research) and transforming the fruits of research and development to farmers and other stakeholders (Extension) in the fields Agriculture, Agricultural Engineering & Technology and Home Science.


The University is carrying out its activities through its constituent Colleges and various Research and Extension centers located throughout the state of Telangana. There are 08 constituent Colleges comprising of five in Agriculture, two in Agricultural Engineering & Technology and one in Home Science Faculties, besides 13 polytechnics (eleven in Agriculture and one each in Seed Technology and Agricultural Engineering) offering various courses at different levels of Undergraduate, Postgraduate, Doctoral and Diploma. The research activities of the University are carried out by 15 Research Stations located in three agro-climatic zones of the State. Similarly, the Extension services are carried out by 09 District Agricultural Advisory and Transfer of Technology Centres (DAATTCs) and 07 Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs), besides one each of Extension Education Institute (EEI), Agricultural Information and Communication Centre (AICC), Electronic Wing, Agricultural Technology Information Centre (ATIC) and Farmers Call Centre (FCC), located at Hyderabad.


University Type
State Agricultural University
Vice Chancellor
Dr. V. Praveen Rao


v In tune with the mandate of the university which "among others shall be to make provision for education mainly of the rural people of the state of Andhra Pradesh in agriculture in its broad sense and to promote research, field and extension programmes in agriculture and agricultural production", the university has set for itself the following goals.

v Provide opportunities for the citizens of the state and the country for education in the field of agriculture in its broad sense and to promote research, field and extension programmes in agriculture and allied sciences. Strengthen UG and PG teaching through periodic revision of syllabi.

v Establish the required infrastructure to conduct location specific research in the field of agriculture and allied sciences.

v Generate technologies to improve farm production and income to farmers.

v Provide the needed assistance to the development departments of the Government and other agencies to test and disseminate the improved technologies developed.

v Provide opportunities for rural youth and women for learning and adoption of improved agro-technologies.

v Revitalize the extension activities through the creation of specific infrastructure in each district.

v Adopt advancements in information technology and computers to improve the formal academic programmes and introduce non-formal distance and contact learning programmes for the benefit of farmers, rural youth and women.



       Development of infrastructure and up gradation of existing infrastructure at all constituent colleges.

       Development of infrastructure facilities and renovation of Boys and Girls hostels at colleges.

       Improvement of facilities at all the libraries of the University.

       Procurement of state of art equipment for Central Instrumentation Cell.

       Purchase of new equipment and repairs to the existing once for conducting practicals and for students and staff.

       Development of study materials / manuals for UG courses of Agriculture and Home Science.



DBT Schemes

ICAR-PG Scholarship

Financial Year : 2021-22 | Beneficiary :38

National Talent Scholarship-PG

Financial Year : 2021-22 | Beneficiary :38


Financial Year : 2021-22 | Beneficiary :25

National Talent Scholarship-UG

Financial Year : 2021-22 | Beneficiary :100



Professor Jayashankar Telangana State Agricultral University ,Hyderabad
Rajendranagar, Hyderabad, Telangana

Website :